Star Wars Roleplay: Chaos

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Discussion SWRP Chaos & Social Psychology

Chaos is a community like any other group of people and where there’s people there’s psychology. I’m by no means an expert but I have a degree in psychology (no, I haven’t been psychoanalysing you and yes I can read your mind) so here’s a post no one asked for about my take on Chaos and its community. A lot of this refers to social identity theory & realistic conflict theory, if you’re unfamiliar with them. I’m happy to discuss anything in the replies and I’m sure many of you will be able to relate to some of what is mentioned here. I’m just trying to apply some psychology. I don't know if any of this is a hot take but yeah:

Factions have personalities
When people are placed into groups, either through choice (a sports team, a faction) or naturally (ethnicity, gender, age ect.) we begin to adopt the beliefs of that group and when we view ourselves as part of a group then we start to imitate the language of said group. I’ve certainly had it pointed out that once I had started speaking to certain people from another faction that I started adopting the way they messaged. People also mimic the style of speaking to gain approval from the person/group they are mimicking. The fact that factions have different ways of talking to each other is a tell-tale sign that they have formed an in-group and this gives them a different personality from other factions both because of the unique way of speaking to each other and the beliefs they share.