Star Wars Roleplay: Chaos

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Is College Necessary? Is it good for Society?

For some background, I work as an instructor at a college and am thus very much a part of it's process. I enjoy teaching, and want to become a full fledged member of faculty and do research. This makes me biased, I see the good in education. It can make people more curious, it can encourage learning at depth about particular subjects. You can create meaningful changes in society, new inventions, technologies, yet why it is not the only answer. I was "good" at college, some people are not, and I think that's something that's...ignored. Or treated as if it is an evil, I don't think it is. I don't want every student to go to college if that isn't what is best for them, for their mind, and their life.

I was thinking earlier, what do you all think about college? Did you go? Is it necessary? If that is the case, should we change it from being a "Higher Education" to simply an "Education" and make the government support it? Or is it purely the responsibility of individuals?

What about Trade Schools? I think these are an excellent alternative because not everyone wants to work in an office, and we need people to work other jobs. We'd all be up a creek if we had no plumbers.

Really I'd love to see what people think about this, if you hate college on the whole, which is a potential answer. Why? What is a good alternative? Did you have an experience there?

Aurelio Murtix

The Ambitious Noble