Star Wars Roleplay: Chaos

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Do you think Age effects RP?

Goran

The Original Robot Space Ninja
With age often comes experience. I'm a much better writer now than I was a decade ago, and if I keep refining my craft, I'll be a much better writer in a decade than I am now.

Raw talent can be found at nearly any age, and I've met teenagers who can write circles around me. But generally speaking, the longer someone has been writing, the better they'll be, especially if they consciously improve themselves as they go along.

Jaxton Ravos

Mindwalker of the Outer Rim
There's a saying in business that some people have ten years of experience and some people have two years experience five times. Some people are fair and balanced writers at 13, some aren't at 31. Some take a year or two to click, some don't. Everyone has room for improvement, and can get better if they make it a priority and make sure not to think linearly. I would say in general people who start older a little more prepared, but I haven't noticed any trends on how people grow in relation to age or experience.

Emberlene's Daughter, The Jedi Generalist
I don't think it does, as has been said there are young people who can write circles around me but generally the longer you stay at it the more you've had chances to develop something for your own. I am 28 and despite a decade plus rping I would say I am at best average to mediocre for it with a lot to learn and do. Maybe in another ten years I'll be better.

[member="Goran"] nailed it.

I think in life, skill in anything can be talent. However the best of the best don't become the best by being talented. They practice. Which in my opinion is what makes a great. Talent can make you good, but only practice can elevate you to greatness.

Juggerduck