Star Wars Roleplay: Chaos

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Anyone have any tips for switching from blue to white collar?

Was curious if anyone on the site has made this transition and is willing to impart some wisdom. Little info, I've been doing concrete/roofing/sandblasting/security/
welding since I got kicked out the military a couple years back. I'm really hoping to get into sales. What would be a good entry level job to pursue and are there any sort of classes I can take to get a leg up?

[member="Mr.Votaw"] I may not be help at all being in the UK and not in your circumstances BUT when I graduated Uni with a Media Degree, I moved 200 miles away and out of my "comfort" zone. I needed a job. I was good with computers and touch typing and basic understanding of admin.

I found that an agency was the best step; I went into town and signed up, told them what I could do and kept my finger on the pulse with them and I was placed as an Administrative Assistant for 2 weeks. 6 years later, I left the company after 3 internal moves and now work for another company - all construction based.

From Media Studies, to an industry I knew NOTHING about.

BUT learning from the bottom up and showing dedication and that team spirit I'm sure you have, along with your own personal skills and industry knowledge, I would say head to a job agency if you have them. Show a little faith in what you can offer and you should get in one or two places and eventually find that one place you like, can learn about and move up to permanent as I did.

Good luck to you!

Jsc

Disney's Princess
Concern your happiness with yourself, but concern your fiances with war.

Be honest with your God, but be polite with your fellow men.