Star Wars Roleplay: Chaos

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Attempt at a Lightsaber

I'm not an artist or a miracle worker when it comes to Photoshop. I'm still I guess a noob when it comes to things like this.

Since this place is about Star Wars :D I was thinking of making a Jedi character but wanted to try and learn how to make a lightsaber, that way I won't have to poke and bug extremely good artist over and over again when I need to edit one. So I tried my hand at making a "lightsaber" followed two youtube tutorials and mix the two and got this result.

L201Ojx.png

Was wondering what yall thought about the attempt. Also looking to hopefully better the skill so is there better tutorials you recommended?

[member="Odhran Schwarz"]

Just cut out the rest of the picture and have only the sword there for a sub and it will look alright. I've seen worse for sure.

My only suggestion would be to try to get that purple to blend better with the rest of the picture. There is a mist going on obscuring things but that blade just sort of sticks out with its brightness. If you could maybe shade some reflecting color around it in the mist or dull down the glow? I'm not much of an artist just giving my thoughts.

Huxy

[ Message Received ]
Good job, better than I could do. As for making the image look better: make the sword blend in more with the image. As [member="Tristram Senan"] said, it's kind of misty up on the mountaintop in the image so overlay a mist effect and try to blend the colors together. Also, maybe make the color of the blade not as bright. The scene is kind of dark with the environment so try to make the color of the blade fit with the scene. Otherwise, it stands out far too much and looks off. Look at pictures of lightsabers from the movies to get what I mean.