Star Wars Roleplay: Chaos

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

How do I write ptsd

My char just went through something super traumatic, and as I've always loved realistic characters, I've decided to give him ptsd. Unfortunately I have no knowledge of this disorder. To help, I've been doing research and reading books and stories that incorporate it, but I'm hoping someone on here can give me some tips on writing it in a conversation as I do my best brainstorming when talking back and forth to someone and bouncing ideas off.

If you're interested, or know someone you thin could help, DM me and let me know.

Jsc

Disney's Princess
Same way I'd write about surviving a traumatic Shark Attack.

First there'd be a irrational focus on the event. Compulsory flashbacks, denial, disassociation, explosive emotional feedback, maybe some cognitive dissonance if I'm feeling really mean. Lol. Essentially, they'd fight constantly not to think about, that thing they are always thinking about.

Second is coping habits. They'd start doing something ritualistically to keep themselves from ritualistically thinking about the event. Maybe pick up drinking or gambling or sex or something.