Star Wars Roleplay: Chaos

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

1000 Post Roast

Just under a year and 1000 (mostly rp) posts – I don't think I've ever written this much for a character in that span of time!

I never like to put a lot of pressure on my characters to become something when I start writing them – for me, that hinders how much I can enjoy them. Cora started off with a vague backstory and a few major but basic attributes; a young, pampered noblewoman eagerly throwing herself into the New Jedi Order at the behest of her father. Early on, her arrogance and general sheltered demeanor were very fun to write (especially when she clashed with more down-to-earth characters), but they've also allowed me to craft some unique struggles I've never worked with before.

Being pushed into an arranged marriage forced her to make some uncomfortable decisions. Departing the Jedi put a lot of strain on the relationships she'd built, but it all boiled down to a strong sense of duty to her family and her people. And when she couldn't measure up to that duty (cough matricide cough), the subsequent exile from her home planet has her marinating in failure and a loss of her sense of self.

Now, nearly a year after I started writing her, Cora has gradually drifted from enthusiastic, innocent and haughty to enduring, mindful, and still kind of haughty. And still a prude, of course. I'm looking forward on seeing how she navigates being stripped of her home and family; the very thing she's lived her life to protect.

TLDR; Energetic arrogant aristocrat becomes Jedi, learns that life is kind of sucky for most people who aren't born rich, forced to marry an abusive man who she subsequently kills, is now sad that she did that because her family didn't like it.