Star Wars Roleplay: Chaos

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

At the Banners of Madness

Netherworld

a.k.a. Nether’s Guide to Photoshop Things™

Short introduction is short. I’ve been doing Photoshop Things™ for 7+ years. You can peruse various examples here and here. Ideally, this will be a non-exhaustive compendium of tutorials, but I make no promises. Anyway, the idea is I’ll take one ‘type’ of design I do for Chaos stuff, and do a walkthrough-ish of it. The focus will be on the methods rather than the specifics used in that particular case, because the goal of this is to teach you how to make your own Photoshop Things™, not reproduce mine.

Happy artsing!

KEY:
  • Shoggoth – No knowledge
  • Dagon – Beginner
  • Cthulhu – Intermediate
  • Azathoth – Advanced

Dagon
PLANNING & SETUP

1. Determine mood

2. Scour the internets for inspirational and/or useful images.

• Tip: Git gud at searching for specific things. It’ll save you a lot of headache.

3. Throw your shortlisted images in a blank file of your chosen size. Push them around for a bit, change the layer order, see how and what fits.

• Tip: Think about the foreground-background (or figure-ground) relationship. The focus of your splash should read well and be (immediately) obvious to the viewer.

• Tip 2: Less is more.

4. If you have text, add it now. Pick a font that fits your chosen mood and think of the composition when you determine its placement.

• Tip: For splash banners and tags, you’ll generally be best-off centering the text. Signatures will (usually) have a different balance because of a character’s face competing for attention.

COMPOSITING